Kilowatt Miles
Range & Tests

Tesla Upgrades US Model 3 With Larger Screen and More Range

Tesla has upgraded the US Model 3 with a larger 16-inch touchscreen, improved acceleration for the Premium AWD trim, and increased range.

Tesla has upgraded the US Model 3 with a larger 16-inch touchscreen, improved acceleration for the Premium AWD trim, and...

Tesla is now equipping every US Model 3 with a 16-inch center touchscreen, replacing the previous 15.4-inch unit. The company announced the hardware updates for the US, Puerto Rico, and Mexico on Thursday evening, with the configurator already reflecting the changes.

All US Model 3 trims now feature a 16-inch center touchscreen, replacing the 15.4-inch unit, alongside new interior color options. The same 16-inch screen was added to the Model Y Premium in January. Every Model 3 in China received the 16-inch screen the day before the US announcement. The black headliner is only available on the US Model 3 Performance. Model 3 Premium and Performance models gain the Zen Grey interior option. US buyers still only have black and black-and-white interior options, as the new light gray interior launched in China is not available.

Performance and efficiency gains

The Model 3 Performance sees increased peak power and EPA-estimated range, while the Premium AWD model accelerates quicker. The Model 3 Performance’s EPA-estimated range increased from 309 to 316 miles. Tesla states the Model 3 Performance’s peak power is 'improved' at 528 hp, up from roughly 510 hp when launched in 2024. The Model 3 Performance’s 0 to 60 mph time remains unchanged at 2.9 seconds.

The Model 3 Premium AWD now has 346 miles of range. It also accelerates from 0 to 60 mph in 3.8 seconds, down from 4.2 seconds. This 0.4-second reduction was spotted by an online observer on October 2, 2026. Tesla has not officially acknowledged the improvement. Quicker 0-60 times for Premium AWD are due to new build specifications. Tesla did not specify the source of the extra power and range in the dual-motor models.

Model0-60 mph TimeEPA RangePeak Power
Model 3 Performance2.9 seconds316 miles528 hp
Model 3 Premium AWD3.8 seconds346 milesNot specified

Regional availability and limitations

The updates apply to the US, Puerto Rico, and Mexico, but not Canada, and do not include vehicle-to-load capability for the Model 3 in the US. Canada is not included in the update; the Canadian configurator still shows the 15.4-inch screen. Canada receives its Model 3 from Giga Shanghai, the same factory that supplies Chinese-market vehicles that received the 16-inch screen.

There is still no word on the US Model 3 receiving vehicle-to-load capability. In China, every Model 3 can deliver 2.2 kW of AC power via V2L with an adapter. In the US, V2L is limited to the Model Y Premium, Model Y Performance, and Cybertruck. Tesla’s comparison tool does not list any external power feature for the US Model 3.

Pricing and availability notes

Tesla confirmed no price increases with the updates, and existing vehicles will not receive the changes via over-the-air updates. The changes are hardware and spec-sheet updates, not over-the-air updates. The screen upgrade requires a hardware swap. Tesla did not confirm whether the updates will apply to previously delivered vehicles.

ModelPrice
Model 3 RWD$36,990
Model 3 Premium RWD$42,490
Model 3 Premium AWD$47,490
Model 3 Performance$54,990

One observer was critical of the changes. Troy Frank said: "None of these changes matter in a meaningful way. Drop the prices by $2-5k across the board. That would matter far more." The US configurator already reflects the changes.

Topics

#Tesla

Related coverage

More from Range & Tests